

DAILY CONFERENCE NEWS

Your Daily Conference News is sponsored by AgriLabs

wwwaabp.org

www.agrilabs.com/

SUNDAY, September 17, 2017

Prestigious Awards Given at AABP Annual Business and Awards Luncheon

At yesterday's AABP Business Meeting and Awards Luncheon, several prestigious awards were bestowed on AABP members. They are:

> **Bovine Practitioner of the Year Sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim** Dr. Norm LaFaunce, Turlock, Calif.



Photo Credit: Sam Albers Dr. Bryan Halteman (left) presented the 2017 Practitioner of the Year Award to Dr. Norm LaFaunce.

Preventive Medicine Beef Award Sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim (Beef) Dr. Robert Gukich, Lake Wales, Fla.

Preventive Medicine Beef Award Sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim (Dairy) Dr. Fred Muller, Sunnyside, Wash.

Jim Jarret Award for Young Leaders Dr. Trent Fox, Hays, Kan.

> **AABP Award of Excellence** Dr. David Kelton, Guelph, Ont.

Distinguished Service Award Sponsored by Zoetis Dr. Bob Smith, Stillwater, Okla. Mentor-of-the-Year Award Sponsored by Merck Animal Health Dr. Dee Griffin, Canyon, Texas



Photo Credit: Sam Albers

Dr. Bruce Wren CE Awards Sponsored by AgriLabs

The 2017 Dr. Bruce Wren Continuing Education Awards, sponsored by AgriLabs, were presented to Dr. Holt Tripp, Okotoks, Alberta (Beef) and Dr. Sarah Giebel, Canyon, Texas (Dairy).

This \$5,000 award is intended for continuing education of the recipients' choice, and is limited to practicing veterinarians less than 10 years out from veterinary school.



Dr. Robert Rust (center) presents the AgriLabs Dr. Bruce Wren CE Award to Dr. Sarah Geibel and Dr. Holt Tripp.

Photo Credit: Sam Albers

Merck Student Recognition Awards

Eighteen veterinary students were awarded the 2017 Student Recognition Award sponsored by Merck Animal Health. They are:

- Max Beal, Kansas State University
- Ben Bennett, Kansas State University
- Justin Casares, Texas A&M University
- Taylor Crandall, Kansas State University
- Alex Gander, University of Wisconsin
- Marissa Horton, Cornell University
- Cade Luckett, Texas A&M University
- Tara Lynch, Oklahoma State University
- Randall Morgan, University of Wisconsin
- Rachel O'Leary, University of Wisconsin
- Jenna Porter, Iowa State University
- Delaine Quaresma, University of California-Davis
- Cassandra Rice, Iowa State University
- Travis Roberts, Ross University
- Brian Schnell, University of Wisconsin
- Kristy Shaw, Ohio State University
- Lauren Thompson, Texas A&M University
- Kendra Wells, University of Wisconsin



Photo credit: Sam Albers Student Recognition Award Winners sponsored by Merck Animal Health

Over 130 Runners Participate in the 5K stampede

A great crowd showed up for the 5th Annual AABP 5K Stampede Fun Run sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. on Saturday at Miller's Landing. Final 5K results will be available on the AABP website post-conference; watch for announcements to come.



2017 5K Stampede medalists

AABP Graduate Student Presentation Awards

Winners of the 2017 AABP Graduate Student Presentation Awards (with additional funding from the Bovine Respiratory Disease Symposium):

First Place – Oscar Benitez Rojas, Michigan State University

Second Place – Kathryn Bach, Cornell University

Third Place – Charlotte Winder, University of Guelph



First place winner Oscar Benitez Rojas

Photo Credit: Sam Albers

Student Case/Research Presentation Winners

Student Clinical Case Presentation and Overall Winner: Justin Casares, Texas A&M **Second Place, Student Case Presentation:** Lauren Thompson, Texas A&M

Student Research Presentation: **First Place:** Kristen Livengood, North Carolina State University **Second Place:** Joseph Hammes, University of Minnesota