

DAILY CONFERENCE NEWS

Your Daily Conference News is sponsored by HOARDS DAIRYMAN

wwwaabp.org

www.hoards.com/

SUNDAY, September 16, 2018

Prestigious Awards Given at AABP Annual Business and Awards Luncheon

At yesterday's AABP Business Meeting and Awards Luncheon, several prestigious awards were bestowed on AABP members. They are:

Bovine Practitioner of the Year Sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim Dr. Henry Ceelen, Kemptville, Ontario



Dr. Rob Tremblay (left) and Dr. Henry Ceelen

AABP Award of ExcellenceDr. Virginia Fajt, College Station, Texas

Dr. Sarah Wagner (left), Dr. Virginia Fajt and Dr. Terry Lehenbauer



Distinguished Service Award Sponsored by Zoetis

Dr. Dan Thomson, Manhattan, Kan.



Dr. Dan Thomson (left) and Dr. Bob Smith

Preventive Medicine Beef Award Sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim

Dr. John Crews, Ft. Meade, Fla.

Dr. Robert Gukich (left) and Dr. John Crews



Preventive Medicine Dairy Award Sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim

Dr. Ben Shelton, Olin, N.C.



Dr. Ben Shelton (left) and Dr. Geoff Smith

James A. Jarrett Award for Young Leaders Dr. Eric Behlke, Okotoks, Alberta

Dr. Holt Tripp (left) and Dr. Eric Behlke



Mentor-of-the-Year Award Sponsored by Merck Animal Health Dr. Sheila McGuirk, Dodgeville, Wis.



Dr. Sheila McGuirk (left) and Dr. Terri Ollivett

Dr. Bruce Wren CE Awards Sponsored by AgriLabs

The 2018 Dr. Bruce Wren Continuing Education Awards, sponsored by AgriLabs, were presented to Dr. Nick Lemmel, Ogallala, Neb. (Beef), and Dr. Matt Weeman, Centreville, Md. (Dairy).

This \$5,000 award is intended for continuing education of the recipients' choice, and is limited to practicing veterinarians less than 10 years out from veterinary school.



Dr. Robert Rust (center) AgriLabs, Dr. Nick Lemmel (left) and Dr. Matt Weeman.

Bovine Veterinary Student Recognition Award

Eighteen veterinary students were awarded the 2018 Bovine Veterinary Student Recognition Award sponsored by Merck Animal Health. They are:

- Nate Bos, University of Minnesota
- Sara Davis, University of Minnesota
- Elizabeth Endres, University of Wisconsin
- Mariah Fischer, Lincoln Memorial University
- Emily Griswold, University of Pennsylvania
- Allison Hale, Washington State University
- Andrew Harding, Colorado State University
- Tanner Leon, Oklahoma State University
- Will Lillico, University of Saskatchewan

- Elizabeth Martens, Cornell University
- Michelle Morelli, Texas A&M University
- Michael Rohde, Iowa State University
- Cody Sacquitne, Iowa State University
- Robert Stenger, Mississippi State University
- Kimberly Strait, Iowa State University
- Adam Strebe, University of Wisconsin
- Emily Vermillion, University of Georgia
- Bryan Welly, University of California-Davis



Front Row (L-R): Mariah Fischer, Michael Rhode, Elizabeth Endres, Emily Griswold, Emily Vermillion, Michele Morelli;

Back Row (L-R): Andrew Harding, Kimberly Strait, Will Lillico, Elizabeth Martens, Bryan Welly. Adam Strebe, Robert Stenger, Tanner Leon.

Over 130 Runners Participate in the 5K Stampede

A great crowd showed up for the 6th Annual AABP 5K Stampede Fun Run sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. on Saturday at Steele Indian School Park.

Final 5K results will be available on the AABP website post-conference; watch for announcements to come.



2018 5K Stampede medalists

Check out the AABP Facebook page for more conference photos and news!