

# DAILY CONFERENCE NEWS

Your Daily Conference News is sponsored by #OARDS PAIRYMAN

## SATURDAY, September 14, 2019

#### 2019 Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame

Friday, two deserving veterinarians were inducted into the 2019 Cattle Production Veterinary Hall of Fame. This year's inductees are Dr. Bob Glock, Marana, Ariz. (Beef) and Dr. Andy Johnson, Green Bay, Wis. (Dairy).



Dr. Brian Miller presents the CPVHoF dairy award to Dr. Andy Johnson

The award is sponsored by Merck Animal Health, AABP, the Academy of Veterinary Consultants and *Bovine Veterinarian* Magazine and was established in 2011. It honors the traditions of production veterinary medicine and the individuals who have made a lasting impact on the profession.



Dr. Del Miles (right) accepts the beef award from Dr. Dave Sjeklocha on Dr. Glock's behalf.

### It's Calgary for the Win!

The University of Calgary doubled its chances by having two Quiz Bowl teams this year, and one of them made it all the way to beat the University of Pennsylvania in the last matchup on Friday.



The winning Quiz Bowl team from the University of Calgary! (L-R): Brenden Hilgartner Megan Dick, Faculty Representative Dr. Gordon Atkins, Nurmo Atabayev, Rae-Leigh Pederzolli.

In all, 27 teams representing 20 veterinary schools participated Friday morning in numerous matches and rounds of competition.

But the day wasn't over yet! At the afternoon break, the winning Calgary team went head-to-head with the "AABP Dream Team" of Drs. Carie Telgen, Mike Apley, Joe Hillhouse and Eric Behlke, while Quiz Bowl Master Dr. Arn Anderson threw some serious and not-so-serious questions to the teams. Last year the Dream Team edged out the students, but this year Calgary pulled off the win! Maybe the Dream Team needs to listen to some of AABP's online CE to prepare for next year's matchup....

# Visit the AABP Facebook Page This Week for More Conference Photos!

#### **Amstutz Scholarship Recipients**

The 2019 Amstutz Scholarship Recipients; each received \$7,500.



(L-R): AABP Amstutz Chair Dr. Callie Willingham, Austin Wenck, Megan Oswald, Shelbey Nagle, KaraLyn Lonngren, Liz Forker, Grace Ertle, Jonathan Richardson, AABP Foundation Chair Dr. Virginia Fajt

### **AABP Foundation-Zoetis Scholarships**

The 2019 AABP Foundation-Zoetis Scholarships (\$5,000) were awarded to 10 students at the Amstutz Scholarship and Auction Dinner sponsored by Zoetis on Friday night.



Back Row (L-R): Dr. Dick Wallace (Zoetis), Adam Strebe, Andy Harding, Emil Walleser, Colleen Potter, Austin Whitmon, Nathan Yerian, AABP Foundation Chair Dr. Virginia Fajt

Front Row (L-R): Elizabeth Endres, Janelle Wiser, Emily Griswold

# **AABP Foundation Bovine Veterinary Student Recognition Award**

Eighteen veterinary students were awarded the 2019 AABP Foundation Bovine Veterinary Student Recognition Award sponsored by Merck Animal Health.



(L-R): Lauren Gentle, Caitlyn Mullins, Rae-Leigh Pederzolli, Nicholas Shen, Thomas Duff, McKenzie Beals Weber, Dallas Shaw, Dr. Lowell Midla (Merck)



Back Row (L-R): Liz Forker, Kyle Longcore, Austin Wenck, Austin Ashbacher, Nathan Yerian, Katie Osborne, Dr. Lowell Midla (Merck)

Front Row (L-R): Morgan Richard, Janelle Wiser

#aabp2019

All photos by Lizz Bauer