CONTACT:
Dr. K. Fred Gingrich, II
American Association of
Bovine Practitioners
1-800-COW-AABP
https://AABP.org

Top Honors Awarded to AABP Dairy and Beef Veterinarians

Prestigious awards were given "virtually" to several bovine veterinarians at the American Association of Bovine Practitioners 2020 53rd Annual Conference in Louisville, Ky.

(ASHLAND, Ohio) October 1, 2020 – The top honor that an American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP) member can obtain in his or her career is the **AABP Bovine Practitioner of the Year** award sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim. And even though the awards ceremony of the 2020 53rd AABP Annual Conference in Louisville, Ky., Sept. 24-26 was held virtually this year with presenters and recipients livestreamed, this prestigious award was given to Dr. Pat Comyn, Madison, Va. This award honors a veterinarian in active practice who is active in organized veterinary medicine and has made significant contributions to bovine medicine.

Several other bovine veterinarians were also honored via the virtual platform at the Annual Business Meeting and Awards Luncheon on September 26. They are:

AABP Award of Excellence

Sponsored by AABP, recipients must be involved in teaching, research, industry or government areas. The recipient's professional activities must have had a consistent and direct influence on daily activities of veterinarians in bovine practice. The 2020 recipient is:

Dr. Terry Lehenbauer, Tulare, Calif.

Zoetis Distinguished Service Award

The recipient of this award is an individual who, through long and continued service, has promoted the goals of the AABP and whose accomplishments have served as a model for service to bovine agriculture through organized veterinary medicine. The 2020 recipient is:

Dr. Jim Brett, Starkville, Miss.

Merck Animal Health Mentor-of-the-Year Award

The recipient of this award is an AABP member who has been engaged in the field of veterinary medicine for at least 25 years and has served as both advisor and role model to pre-veterinary and/or veterinary students. This award is given to a member who embodies this spirit whether in practice, the clinic, or the classroom. The 2020 recipient is:

Dr. Gordon Atkins, Calgary, Alberta

Boehringer Ingelheim Excellence in Preventive Medicine Awards

This award recognizes individual member practitioners or practices that have developed outstanding preventive medicine programs. Because of differences in management goals and needs, one award is given to recognize an outstanding program for dairy production, and one for beef production. The 2020 recipients are:

(Dairy) Dr. Roger Thomson, Battle Creek, Mich. (Beef) Dr. Jon Bolinger, Tipton, Mo.

Dr. James A. Jarrett Award for Young Leaders

Recipients of this award have graduated veterinary school within 10 years, have given extraordinary service to the AABP in a manner that significantly enhances the mission of the organization, and whose contributions will help ensure the current and future success of the AABP. The 2020 recipient is: Dr. Brandon Treichler, Canyon, Texas

Other awards given at the 2020 53rd AABP Annual Conference include:

2020 AABP Foundation Competitive Research Grant Awards

- Dr. Gerard Cramer, University of Minnesota
 Development of a Sole Ulcer Induction Model in Holstein Cows: The Next Step in Lameness
 Research
- Dr. Manuel Chamorro, Auburn University

 Effects of Lameness on Semen Quality in Beef Bulls: A Case-control Study

2020 AABP Research Summaries Graduate Student Awards

- First Place Dr. Matthew Scott, Mississippi State University
 Transcriptomic Profiling of BRD-Attributed Mortality in Stocker Cattle Identifies Active
 Inflammatory and Antiviral Pathways at Arrival
- Second Place Dr. Claira Seely, Cornell University
 Effect of Hyperketonemia on Circadian Patterns of Blood Metabolites and Milk Predicted
 Constituents in Dairy Cows
- Third Place Dr. Ainhoa Valldecabres, UC-Davis
 Associations of Serum Calcium and Subclinical Hypocalcemia at Calving with Productive,
 Reproductive and Health Outcomes in multiparous Jersey Cows

2020 Student Case Presentation Competition Winners

- Overall Winner
 - Isabella Knecht Cornell University

Intravenous Dextrose as a Treatment for Hyperketonemia in Dairy Cows

- Clinical Case Report Winner
 - Elizabeth Rumfola Louisiana State University

Urolithiasis in a Bull

- Research Report Winners
 - First Place: Isabella Knecht Cornell University
 - Second Place: Caroline Cunningham Texas A&M University
 Genetic Variability of Bovine Coronavirus Isolated from the Respiratory and Enteric Tract of Calf-Ranch Raised Dairy Calves

Find more conference recaps and photos on the AABP Facebook page. #AABP2020

#

Next up will be the 4^{th} Annual AABP Recent Veterinary Graduate Conference Feb. 10-13, 2021 in St. Louis, Mo.

AABP is a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving cattle veterinary medicine professionals across the United States, Canada and other countries. Visit https://aabp.org and like us on Facebook.	