Member Login: Enter Member # or UserID: Password:
Click here to have your log-in information emailed to you

AABP Foundation

Follow us on Facebook

Online CE Opportunities
BCI Online Continuing Education

Search Vetlexicon Bovis

AABP Timely News


Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc
Bovine Practitioner of the Year Award

This award was established in 1978 and has been given annually. Sponsors of the award have included Diamond Scientific, Syntex Animal Health, Fort Dodge Animal Health and now Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. It consists of a diamond ring and commemorative plaque. Candidates for the award must be bovine practitioners in active practice and the following criteria are evaluated:

  1. Recognition for merits in the past year, but recognizing that some things are not completed in one year - it may take 2 or 3 years.
  2. Consider the volume of practice that is bovine in nature.
  3. Quality and competency of veterinary service. What fellow veterinarians think of him/her.
  4. Activities in organized veterinary medicine, licensing boards, specialty boards, etc.
  5. Case or scientific reports during the current or previous year.
  6. Contributions to continuing education in the profession during the past year.
  7. Relationship and contribution to the bovine industry (dairy and beef).
  8. Legislative activities during current or previous year that affect the cattle industry and bovine practice.
  9. Any achievement or report in previous year that has an impact on the industry in the current year.

Nominate someone for this award.

Recipient City State Year
Edward F. Sterner Ionia MI 1978
Ben D. Harrington Raleigh NC 1979
Arnold F. Hentschl Harbor Beach MI 1980
David T. Bechtol Canyon TX 1981
Leland C. Allenstein Whitewater WI 1982
William V. McElroy Lamoni IA 1983
James A. Jarrett Rome GA 1984
John B. Herrick Scottsdale AZ 1985
Darrel E. Johnson Marshfield WI 1986
Robert L. Darlington Wickenburg AZ 1987
Gordon A. Atkins Calgary AB 1988
Robert H. Keith Monroe WI 1989
Donald J. Klingborg Davis CA 1990
Keith E. Sterner Ionia MI 1991
Jenks S. Britt Bowling Green KY 1992
Edwin G. Robertson Harrogate TN 1993
Arden J. Nelson Laporte CO 1994
Alvin J. Edwards Kearney NE 1995
Paul E. Blackmer Granite Bay CA 1996
Del Miles Greeley CO 1997
Andrew Johnson Green Bay WI 1998
Thomas J. Fuhrmann Tempe AZ 1999
J. Ewen Ferguson Campbellford ON 2000
John W. Ferry Adams NY 2001
Samuel E. Strahm Pawhuska OK 2002
Robert A. Smith Stillwater OK 2003
David A. Rhoda Evansville WI 2004
James L. Cole Tompkinsville KY 2005
Randall H. Hinshaw Rockingham VA 2006
Wayne S. Shewfelt tavistock Ontario 2007
G. K. Jim Okotoks AB 2008
Garold H. Koester Cadillac MI 2009
Joseph J. Klopfenstein Corvallis OR 2010
Donnie L. Gardner Huddleston VA 2011
Earl Aalseth Lake Stevens WA 2012
Tom R. Latta Spearman TX 2013
Mark E. Hardesty Maria Stein OH 2014
Stephen D. Lewis Canyon TX 2015
Frank J. Schenkels Shubenacadie NS 2016
Norman A. LaFaunce Modesto CA 2017
Henry J. Ceelen Kemptville ON 2018
© The contents of this site, unless otherwise noted, are copyrighted by the
American Association of Bovine Practitioners. All rights reserved.